I noticed something this morning that I’ve never seen before. What follows is my prayer in response to God’s kindness. I pray that you will be encouraged too…

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God, so that at the proper time, He may exalt you, casting all your anxieties in him, because He cares for you. ~ 1 Peter 5:6-7 (ESV)

Father, I just noticed for the first time that this is all one sentence. It’s not 2 separate thoughts…

  • “Humble yourselves” – I’ve been asking You to humble me, keep me humble, etc., but I’m actually supposed to do that myself. I need to make the conscious choice, every moment of every day, to live humbly before You and the people You put in my path.
  • “under the mighty hand of God” – What other option is there, really, than to understand Your might and my frailty, and to therefore take on a position and posture of humility. To do or think anything else is to attempt to exalt myself above You, and…
  • “so that…He may exalt you”that’s Your job, not mine.
  • “at the proper time” – You, who are not bound by time, know the proper time for everything. And, You know my heart. You alone know when I have truly humbled myself before You, so You alone know when I am ready to handle being exalted by You, without being in danger of putting on even an ounce of pride.
  • “casting all your anxieties on Him”Anxiety is a type of pride. Pride, that most wily of sins, disguising itself in so many forms. When I am anxious, my focus is on me and my problems. But when I honestly and completely humble myself under Your mighty hand, I recognize that only You can do anything about what I’m choosing to be anxious about. It’s all about You and Your glory, not mine, and this is…
  • “because He cares for you.” – It is Your love, kindness, and gentle care for me that begs me to trust You. It’s Your care that assures me that I can trust You.

Father, You care for me, You know what’s best for me, so I don’t have to be anxious about anything. Anxiety and humility can not coexist. You invite me to humility.  Saying “yes” to Your invitation frees me from fear, and puts me exactly where You want me to be – in the care of Your mighty hand.

Oh Lord, Your wisdom leaves me in awe! Thank You!

