Tags

, ,

Because I’ve been away for a while, and because a lot of things have happened since I last wrote, I think it’s time for a bit of a brain dump (aka. a couple of shorter, semi-related posts rolled into one).  So please bear with me as I clean out the cerebral attic.

I do this because I need a fresh start.  And I do this because perhaps, something that comes out of my brain may help you with something that’s sitting in yours. So really, I do this as an act of service. You’re welcome.

On Doing Something

“If you want to be a writer, write – a lot.”  That’s the thought that keeps running through my head.  I don’t know who said that (probably a lot of people – it’s not rocket surgery) but there it is.  To that end, I’m writing.  And I’m thinking about writing that I’ve already done that needs to be tweaked, edited, and (frightening thought) shared with someone else who can help with that process.)

The thing with this idea is that it really applies to way more than just writing.  Superficially, it actually applies to everything we want to do, whether it’s a conscious thought or not.  Want to eat? Eat.  Want to watch TV? Watch TV.

At a deeper level though, it makes sense for less banal areas of life.  Want to be a good friend? Do some research on what that means, then practice being a good friend to everyone you meet.  Want to be a good parent?  Look at every interaction with your child as an opportunity to be the parent that child needs.

Whatever has been stirring your heart lately, start doing it.  Do it a little each day.  And find others who are doing it better from whom you can learn the ropes.  We learn by doing and we learn by watching others do.  It’s usually just that simple.

On Uninvited Guests

Back in February, I attended the Justice Conference to learn about social justice and discover what my role might be.  It was an incredible weekend, and yes, it has taken me 6 months to even mention it because I’m still processing it and wrestling with things I heard and experienced.  At some point, I will write more fully on the experience, but for now, I’ll just say this:

I returned from Philly excited to change the world, and I still am. But I decided that excitement needed to go on the backburner until I finished school.  I’m a month and a half away, and now I’m starting to panic.  Did I miss my opportunity to change the world?  Did I wait too long to get started?  Will I be able to get connected to a good organization?

Yup.  While my excitement simmered, fear and doubt climbed into the pot.  That happens when we don’t keep an eye on our dreams.  And now I’m having to strain out the bad to make room for the good.

So, if you’re excited about something right now, see the previous section.  Get up and do something with your excitement before fear and doubt show up and ruin the party.

