A few years ago, my dad asked me to make a collection of “those worship songs” for Christmas. So I did.  I’m working on Volume 4 right now, and since that time, I’ve noticed that each volume has a theme.  My mom asked me to write about those themes and how the songs I chose for each volume fit in.  I probably won’t do a post for every song, but I thought I’d share my thoughts on some of the songs that have spoken Truth into my life, and at times have spoken the words I couldn’t speak on my own…

Lead Me to the Cross ~ Chris and Conrad

Volume 1 starts with a song that I keep going back to over and over again.  It’s a song that I believe sums up all of history.  From the beginning of time and for all eternity, the cross is the centerpiece.  Paul puts it this way:

For all the promises of God find their Yes in Him.
~ Colossians 1:20a

No matter what life brings, no matter the joy or the sadness, God will always keep His promises, and it is the work Christ completed on the Cross that makes those promises possible.

But if we cling to the stuff of this life, we cannot take hold of God’s promises.  We need God to bring us to a place where we see Jesus and decide that we want Him more than anything else.  In that place, we willingly hand over our lives and take the gift He died to give us: Life.

Bring me to my knees. Lord, I lay me down.
Rid my of myself, I belong to You.
Lead me to the Cross.

 

What does this song mean to you?

 

