Tags

, , ,

I got a letter in the mail the yesterday.  Let me stop right there and dwell on that for just a moment:  A friend of mine had something she wanted to tell me so she wrote it down, put it in an envelope, put a stamp on it and put it in the mail.  She didn’t text me.  She didn’t post on my Facebook page.  She actually sent me mail.

I don’t do that for other people nearly enough…

Anyway, the point of the letter she sent was to share with me the following quote:

God’s plan for you is not past tense or hidden in the obscurity of the future.  It is continuous.  God’s will is always current.  It is for this you have been brought into the kingdom: to live this day, within its circumstances, in obedience.  ~Jeannette Clift George

That hit me pretty hard.  I had to think about it and mull it over for a while, but yeah, that got me. 

So often we spend a lot of time and energy trying to “discover” God’s will for our lives.  But what if, instead of using our time and energy on that, we used our time and energy in our current situation?  What if instead of waiting for our future to begin, we dedicated ourselves to living as if today is all we get? 

What if we really believed that God planned out every last one of our days before we were even born? (Psalm 139:16)

Perhaps we would be more content and at peace with our present circumstances.  Perhaps we would make the most of every day we have (and I don’t mean stuff as much into every day as possible and be completely exhausted at the end of the day…)

I don’t know what this would look like for you.  For me, I think it means that I need to stop wondering if I’m really where I’m supposed to be right now.  It doesn’t mean I’m just going to sit here until the next thing comes along.  I’m still going to plan for my future and I’m still going to look for opportunities. 

But I will stop resenting my current circumstances.  I will trust that God knows what He’s doing with my life.  I will rest in the knowledge that nothing I can do will ever sidetrack God’s plan for me because nothing I can do will ever take Him by surprise.

It means that I will decide “to live this day, in its circumstances, in obedience”, because when I do that, then I will be living in the center of God’s will.

So what does living in the present look like for you?   What benefits do you see in choosing to believe that you are exactly where God wants you right now?

