Tags

,

I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for myself lately.  People around me have told me that they don’t really blame me.  At first, this was a comfort – it’s not all in my head, this really is happening.  But in the last few days, that comfort has turned into an excuse to bathe myself in pity.

On Friday, that changed.  I made a statement in my post about the campaign at http://stuffchristianslike.net/ to protect people in Uganda from contracting Malaria, and it was like I slapped myself upside the head.  My statement was this:

If you’ve ever been bitten by a mosquito and not gotten Malaria, you’re blessed enough to help someone else.

It occurred to me a little later as I ate lunch that because I had gotten to eat lunch, I’m blessed.  I started looking at other events of my day, and those two words popped into my head over and over again.

  • The heat in my house turned on.  I’m blessed.
  • I’m reading Andy Stanley’s new book which means I know how to read.  I’m blessed.  (Btw, stay tuned tomorrow for my review…and then go get the book!)
  • I have parents, friends and a church family who continue to support me in every way possible.  I’m blessed.

I am blessed.  There have been many days in recent weeks when I’ve felt more that I’m cursed, but Truth will always win, and the truth is, I’m blessed.

And so are you.  No matter where you are right now, no matter how bad today has been (or yesterday, for that matter), you’re blessed.  I know I probably have no idea what you’re going through today, but I know that you’re blessed. Don’t believe me?  2 Peter 1:3 puts it this way:

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.

See?  God has given us everything we need.  But not just for our benefit.  He does it for His own glory and because He is good.  He has blessed you and me so that our lives will bring Him glory.  He has blessed you and me so that our lives will show His goodness to a broken world. 

That thing in your life that is causing you so much pain/confusion/anxiety?  Perhaps it’s there to amplify God’s blessing in other areas of your life.  Perhaps it’s there to strengthen the relationship you’re blessed to have with Him.  Perhaps it’s there as a gateway to future blessing.  Perhaps it’s there so that one day, you will be able to bless someone else through your expereince.

Knowing this, knowing that as God’s children we are blessed and that everything He does and allows is because He’s good, how can our response continue to be anything other than, “Thank You!”? 

It won’t always be easy to see God’s blessing in our lives.  Tragedies will continue to strike.  Disappointments will continue to plague us.  Pain, sorrow and loss will continue to play a role in our lives.  But the blessed Christian can rob those things of their power.  By reminding ourselves constantly that we are blessed – in every circumstance and at all times – I think we’ll find that life really isn’t all that bad after all. 

And when we’re no longer wasting our energies on feeling sorry for ourselves, we can get out there and be a blessing in someone else’s life.  All for His glory!

In what way have you recently realized God’s blessing in your life?  What’s your suggestion for being a blessing to someone else today?

