Tags

, , ,

About 10 years ago, I went to Maine with my family for vacation.  It was incredibly beautiful, as you can probably imagine.  The first couple of nights, we stayed in Yarmouth and when we woke up the first morning, a dense fog covered the town, shrouding everything in an eerie mist.  We went for a walk in it and it was one of the most surreal experiences I’ve ever had.

From there, we went to Bar Harbor.  Now when people hear you’re going to Maine for the first time, one if the first things they tell you is “dress warm”.  So we packed jeans and sweatshirts and jackets.  The day we went to Bar Harbor, it was 96F.

Finally, we made our way to Acadia State Park.  If you’ve never been there, do yourself a huge favor and add it to the list of places to see before you die.  It’s incredible!  You stand at the edge of the Atlantic Ocean on gigantic boulders, high above the surface of the water, and on a clear day, I swear you could see Ireland if you squinted hard enough.  The water is a deep, navy blue and when the waves crash on the rocks, the foam is such a pure white against the dark water.  It really is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been.  (And I got some amazing pictures that week!)

There have been many times in the past few years when I’ve felt like I’m standing on the edge of one of those boulders.  Behind me is the rocky path I’ve taken, full of hard climbs, tree roots, and wild flowers.  Ahead of me is the edge.  I’ve come to the end of the trail and there I stand, looking out at my future.  In my mind, it’s beautiful, but full of mystery and potential danger.  I can’t take another step toward it yet, but I can look out over it and wonder what it contains. 

And I wait.  I wait for a bridge to be built so I can cross over into my next adventure.  I wait for a boat to show up that will take me out into the ocean of “what’s next?”  I stand and I wonder – will it be good?  Will I like what’s coming next?  Or will it be hard?  Will it make me struggle and hurt?

We don’t know what our futures hold, but there are a few things we do know for sure:

  1. God planned out our next step ages ago and He’s already in our next moment.  (Isaiah 25:1)
  2. Our faith will continue to be stretched and made stronger. (James 1:3-4)
  3. Whatever God has next for us is good and perfect and will be just the right thing for us. (Romans 12:2)

Our Father loves us so much and He always wants what’s best for us.  Sometimes, what’s best for us makes us happy.  Sometimes, what’s best for us confuses us because we don’t know our whole story yet.  Sometimes, what’s best for us feels like the worst possible thing.  Regardless of how it feels, though, what God allows into our lives is, in fact, the absolute best.

If you’re on the verge, on the edge of what you know, looking out into what you don’t know, ask God to help you let go of your security, your assumptions, your expectations and your fears.  Ask Him to strengthen your faith.  And then trust Him completely, without reservation.  Trust that the One who formed you in your mother’s womb and who planned out every last one of your days knows every step you need to take to end up exactly where He wants you to be: the center of His will.

Are you standing at the edge of what you know, ready for what’s next?  If you’ve already taken the next step, how are you seeing God at work in your life?

