Tags

, , ,

I’m sure you’ve been there.  You have a decision to make.  Or maybe things just aren’t going the way you want them to and you’re confused.  Maybe it’s a little of both.  Either way, you just wish God would tell you what He wants so you can do it and get on with your life.  Maybe send you a Post-it or something.  You’ve been there, right?

That’s pretty much where I’ve been for the last couple of years.  I’ve said to God, “Just tell me what to do.  Whatever it is, I don’t really care any more.  Just tell me and I’ll do it.”  Now if you’re wise and unattached to my situation, you’re probably shaking your head at me right now thinking, “That’s a pretty dangerous thing to say”, and “be careful what you wish for”.  I know.  But sometimes life just gets to be too much and we just want the ride to stop so we can get off.  And in our haste to end whatever is making us unhappy, we say things that, in more pleasant circumstances, we would never consider saying.

There’s something to be said for surrendering to God’s will for our lives (and I’ve said it), and I’d like to believe that’s what’s at the heart of my “request” to God.  Some days it is, and some days, quite honestly, it’s just me wanting to be happy and comfortable.

So the other day, I had been praying that particular prayer for most of the day.  I went to church to pick up some material for Sunday School and this is what I found sitting on the counter in the office:

It made me smile because it’s not the first time in recent weeks that verse has popped into my head (or been quoted to me in one form or another).  “God, what do you want me to do?” I asked.  “Let my joy, and not superficial happiness, fill you.  Keep talking to me.  Be thankful for what I’ve given you.  That’s what I want you to do,” He replied.

It’s hard to argue when God finally gives you the Post-it you’ve been asking Him for, eh?

If you’ve been asking the same types of questions lately, I pray that God would bless you with the gifts of patience and wisdom as you wait on Him.  Keep the faith.  He’s always working and when the time is right, He’ll tell you what to do.

What has God been telling you lately?  Have you ever been blessed with a Post-it experience?

