Tags

,

NOTE: In order to keep with the flow of this second part of our discussion on faith, we’ll take our Midweek Mental Health Break on Thursday this week instead of today.  Hope you don’t mind!

When I was writing Yesterday’s post (the prerequisite to today’s), I was eating pizza.  As I write this one, I’m eating a Sky Bar.  If you’ve never had one, it’s a chocolate bar that has four sections: Caramel, Peanut Butter, Vanilla Cream and Fudge Cream.  They’re fantastic!  This has nothing to do with today’s post, I just thought I’d share… 😉

Ok, getting back to the topic at hand, let’s keep going with the things our hearts would do well to believe:

I am who God says I am: I am His beloved child, chosen and adopted into His family.  I am a co-heir with Christ of God’s heavenly kingdom and all spiritual blessing.  I have been bought with the blood of Jesus and set free from the grip of sin and death.  Nothing can separate me from God and His love.  I am His and I exist to bring Him glory. (Ephesians 1:3-14)

I can do all things through Christ: It is Christ who gives us the strength to live out our lives for God’s glory.  It is Christ we serve and it is in Christ we find our rest.  (Philippians 4:13)

God’s Word is alive and active in me: As we spend time studying, meditating on and memorizing God’s Word, it becomes a part of who we are.  It shapes the things we say and the things we do.  It affects our attitudes and our reactions to the bends in the road.  When we devote ourselves to Scripture, we are changed.  (Hebrews 4:12)

When we allow these five statements to penetrate our hearts and govern our lives, our faith is made stronger.  We no longer fear what life will bring our way because we know that God only allows those things in our lives that will bring glory to Him.  He is the filter through which every trial must pass and then He is the strength we need to endure.  He is our all-sufficient, powerful, loving Father.

The life lived in faith will not be an easy one, but it will be victorious.  And it will set an example for the believers.

How do you keep the faith?  To which promise of God are you clinging today?

