Tags

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had the great privilege this summer to serve, worship and study alongside an amazing group of people from my church.  The ministries of Awakening (worship), Refuel (study) and Motion (service) have been the back bone of the summer for about 30 of us. 

It’s hard to put my finger on just one thing that has impressed me the most about this group, but up toward the top of the list is this: This group knows how to set an example.  As a group, they’ve set an example for their peers in worship.  They’ve set an example for me in their thirst for God’s Word.  They’ve set an example in the church in their service to others.  And what I’ve loved seeing the most is the college kids and older high school kids set an example for those coming behind them in the values they hold and in their behavior.

This idea of setting an example has me thinking a lot about the example I set for others, especially the kids in my church and the people I hung out with all summer.  The verse that has been tacked on the end of every e-mail for Motion this summer is the following:

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.  ~I Timothy 4:12

This is a verse that has been used by youth groups for, I’m pretty sure, centuries.  Or at least since the inception of youth groups.  I think there’s more to it than we usually see, however.  It says, don’t let anyone look down on you because you’re young.  But often, it isn’t our youth that we allow people to look down on…

  • Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are old…
  • Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are single…
  • Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are a stay-at-home-mom…
  • Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are unemployed…
  • Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are ___________…

There is no excuse for not fulfilling your calling.  There is no excuse for not stepping up in ministry.  There is no excuse for not setting an example for fellow believers.  The gospel calls us to action.  Let’s get on our feet and do it.  And let’s not let anyone look down on us – for any reason.  Let’s set the example…

What kind of example are you setting for the believers around you?  How are you encouraging others in their faith?

