Tags

NOTE: See Monday’s note

If you were to go out on the street and ask some random people if they were going to Heaven when they die, I can pretty much guarantee that most of the answers would be along the lines of “I hope so.  I’m a good person and I give to charity/volunteer.”  Giving to charity and volunteering are very in style these days.  Celebrities are very public about the good things they do for others.  And if you were to ask a group of volunteers why they do it, at least one of the answers would be “because it makes me feel good.”

It’s true – when we do nice things for others, it makes us feel good about ourselves.  And that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  I truly hope that the kids I’m working with this week are proud of themselves for giving up a week of their summer vacations to serve people in a community who could use some help.  But there’s something else I hope for them even more.

As this week progresses, I hope the kids (and you and me) realize more and more that it isn’t the people around them they’re serving.  They’re serving God.  It’s a simple concept for us as Christians, but I think sometimes we forget that at the heart of everything we do, we are to bring glory to God. 

Our motivation for serving others should not be to make anyone – us or them – feel good.  That may be a byproduct of our service, but if that’s the only reason we’re serving, something’s wrong.  As followers of Christ, our service to others should flow naturally out of our love for Him.  Everything we do and say should be done and said in a way that points others to Christ and not to ourselves.  We were created for God’s glory.  We serve others for the same reason. 

How do you serve others?  What do you enjoy most about what you do?

