Tags

,

Lindsey Nobels has a series of guest posts on her site related to the following song, so I thought I’d throw in my two cents…

There are two parts of this song that really hit me on Sunday night when we sang it during a Night of Worship at my church:

When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory. When we (and by “we”, of course, I do also mean “me”…) look at the hard things in our lives, it’s so easy to fall into pity, resentment and depression.  I’ve been there and done that many, many times.  But when we look at them in comparison to who God is, what response can we have but to fall to our knees in worship?  He can handle anything that happens.  He allows troubles into our lives to grow and perfect our faith and to make us conform to His image (James 1:2-4).  In the light of His glory, “the things of earth will grow strangely dim.”

I don’t have time to maintain these regrets, when I think about, the way… He loves us.  I see this as a call to worship.  If we focus our eyes on Jesus, “the author and perfecter of our faith“, we won’t waste time obsessing over our past mistakes, traumas and regrets.  I’ve been there and done that one too!  If we dedicate our lives to living for His glory in response to His love, those things in our past will no longer trip us up or slow us down.  We can know that we are forgiven for the mistakes.  He will redeem the traumas.  He will teach us truth and give us freedom from our regrets.  All because he loves us. 

Where do you see God’s love at work in your life?  Where do you need to see God’s love in your life?

