Tags

,

The Bible is full of people giving excuses.  God called Moses to free His people from slavery in Egypt.  Moses said, “But God, I ran away from there, and they’ll think I’m crazy when I tell them You sent me, and I don’t speak well, and…”  God called Jonah to go preach to the people in Nineveh.  Jonah said, “But God, they’re evil, I don’t want to go there.  Just destroy them already and make everyone around them happy.”  God called Ananias to teach Paul about Himself and lead him to repentance.  Ananias said, “But God, do you even know what he’s been doing?  He’ll kill me!”

And then there’s Gideon.  God called Gideon to fight the Midianites and free Israel from their tyranny.  Gideon said, “But God, how can I save Israel?  I come from the weakest family in the weakest tribe, and guess what?  That’s right, I’m the weakest member of that family.”  What I find interesting about Gideon’s story is that his initial excuse comes after God’s reassurance, not before.  Before Gideon had spoken his protest out loud, God had already shot it down: “Go in the strength you have.”  What strength was that?  “Am I not sending you?”  (Judges 6:11-15)

It’s funny that even with all these examples in the Bible of people making excuses for not doing what God called them to do, we still do the same thing.  I guess there really is nothing new under the sun…  “But God, I’m not a leader…”  “But God, I honestly don’t care much for that group of people…”  “But God, do you even know my past?”  “But God, no one’s ever paid much attention to me before…”

No matter what your “But God…” excuse is, I can guarantee, He already knows it, and He’s already assured you that He can work with it.  Those two little words that have been whined at Him for centuries are also the answer to every question, every worry, every fear and every excuse.

  • BUT GOD remembered…
  • BUT GOD promised…
  • BUT GOD was with him/her…
  • BUT GOD demonstrates His love for us…
  • BUT GOD chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise…
  • BUT GOD raised Christ from the dead…
  • BUT GOD knows…

If God is calling you to do something for which you don’t feel qualified, something that scares you, something that confuses you, remember what He said to Gideon: “Go in the strength you have…Am I not sending you?”  He is all you need to do all that He is asking of you. 

What’s your current “But God,”?  What’s your favorite “BUT GOD”?

