Tags

, , ,

NOTE: This post was spawned by a comment I left on this Stuff Christians Like post.

When I was in middle school, I spent most of my summer at camp. All these girls were showing up with t-shirts and posters and notebooks and pillowcases festooned with pictures of this new boy band. New Kids on the Block? Who the heck is that? By the time I got home from camp, I was so tired of hearing about them that I’d decided I didn’t like them – without ever listening to a single song.

In a similar turn of events, I have never watched a single episode of either LOST or 24.  Every where I turn, I see people talking about LOST and 24 – who died this week? where did that thing come from? how the heck did Jack get out of that room? what’s going to happen this week?  GAH!!  I’m on LOST & 24 overload!!  (It might have something to do with the fact that a few of the people I follow on Twitter (and who’s blogs I read) seem to be at some stage of obsession with these two shows…)

I was thinking about all of this when I suddenly felt convicted.  (No, not about my judgementalism, but thanks for asking.)  The question that convicted me was this: Could I ever be accused of making someone tired of hearing about Jesus?  Do I talk about Him endlessly?  Do I try to get people to “watch” Him?  Is there anyone in my life who expects every conversation with me to end up being about Jesus?  And the simple, raw, truthful answer to that question is: Not a chance!

I say that Jesus is important to me and I’m grateful for my salvation.  But I really don’t talk about Him much, if at all.  The people in my life know a lot about me – what I like to do for fun, what I like to watch, what my cat’s name is.  But do they know that I know Jesus?  I may hint at it from time to time, but He doesn’t tend to be a hot topic of conversation for me.  I need to work on that.

What about you?  How do you bring Jesus to the forefront of  your conversations?

