Tags

, , ,

Ok, hang on a second.  Go back and read the title of this post again, but this time, do it in a thick Spanish accent and with just a slight sneer a’ la Indigo Montoya from The Princess Bride.  Now we’re on the same page.

Yesterday, I posted a picture of Josie.  You’ll notice that she was lounging in the bathroom sink.  This is what I have to deal with many mornings, and usually, they’re the mornings when I’m in a hurry.  For example, the other morning, I got called to sub.  (If you’ve never subbed, just imagine being awakened by a call to come into work an hour before you’re supposed to be there…)  Wouldn’t you know it, as I’m rushing around trying to get ready and get out the door, Miss Josie decided it was the perfect time for her to relax a bit – right where I least needed her to be.  Isn’t that always the way?  Animals and appliances just seem to know when we’re in the biggest hurry, don’t they?  When we need them to get out of the way (the animals, not the appliances), they’re right there, looking cute and cuddly and very unhelpful.  When we need our hair to dry quickly, the blow dryer seems extra lethargic and not quite as hot as it was yesterday.  And don’t get me started on computers…

I was thinking about all of this as I was rushing to get out the door and I realized that there’s a third A that always seems to know when we’re in a huge hurry to get somewhere…Almighty God (*shrug* I needed an A).  I don’t know about you, but whenever I’m ready for something to happen, when I’m ready to move on to what’s next, God puts the breaks on or worse, get in the way!  Yup, I said it.  Sometimes, God just gets in the way.  I make all these plans and I make a schedule and then…God tells me to wait.  GAH!!

I really should know better by now.  After all, doesn’t James tell us that it’s God who decides what we will do and when we will do it? (James 4:13-15)  And doesn’t Proverbs pretty much say the same thing? (19:21)  But in spite of this knowledge, I still get impatient and frustrated when life doesn’t happen on my timeline.  I start to complain, I start to doubt.  I get depressed and I get angry.  So basically, I act like a spoiled toddler who wants what she wants and wants it NOW!! 

Uh oh.  That’s no way for a big girl to act, is it?  And those of you who are parents, how often does a child throwing a temper tantrum get what he or she wants?  Well, I’m finding that God really is the best parent.  When I get upset about waiting, do you know what He does?  He makes me wait longer.  Oh how my life would be so different and so much happier if I would just surrender my will to His and with the Psalmist say, “I wait for the Lord, my soul waits and in His word I put my hope” (130:5).

So what are you waiting for?  What has God taught you about His timing?

(By the way, as I’m finishing typing this, the song playing on Pandora is Chris Tomlin’s Everlasting God, which contains the words “Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord…” God just cracks me up!!)

