Tags

,

This past Saturday was an historic day and you may have been a part of it.  Beth Moore did a simulcast that included a couple of worship sessions.  Those of you who were part of it already know this, but for those who weren’t, the simulcast went out all over the United States and Canada to over 850 venues and 300,000 women.  300,000!  That’s just crazy! 

What I find most amazing is that, as we sang, 300,000 women raised their voices, all over North America, and worshipped God together.  Picture that for just a moment, won’t you?  On Saturday, God sat on His throne and listened to a small multitude of His daughters praise and honor Him in unity of voice and spirit.  Don’t you think that made Him smile?  It sure made me smile when I stopped to think about it. 

It’s that picture that prompted me to open this new space.  Yes, at it’s core, this is a blog.  But I hope it will be more than just me putting things out into the vastness of the internet.  I’m praying that this will become a place where we daughters of God come together to be encouraged and to be unified under His love.  The following verses perfectly express the vision for this site:

Colossians 1:1-3  1I want you to know how much I am struggling for you…and for all who have not met me personally. 2My purpose is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, 3in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

Paul prayed for his friends and for people he had never met (and would probably never meet) that they would be encouraged and unified and that they would know Christ and all of the wonder that comes with that knowledge.  Like Paul, I am praying for you.  I’m praying that as you join the conversations here, you would be encouraged.  And I’m praying that as we interact, we would be unified in our love for God – and in His love for us.  That’s right, God loves YOU.  YOU are his precious child.  He chose YOU before you were even born to be His.  I hope that truth feels good.  (If not, come back tomorrow and we’ll talk about it.  If it does, thank Him right now.  I’ll wait…Done? Ok.)

So what’s coming up?  Well, like any new group, we’re going to take some time to get to know one another.  When you’re done reading this, pop on up to the “Who’s Here?” tab and tell us a little about yourself, ok?  And obviously, we’re going to take a look at God’s Word and see what He has to say about how we live our lives and about who we are in Christ.  I hope we’ll share our experiences with each other with the goal of…wait for it…encouraging each other’s hearts.  And because when you get a group of women together there’s usually a lot of laughter, we’re going to have some fun with each other!

Before we get started though, let’s lay down some ground rules, ok?  I know, I know, rules…yuck!  But if we stick to just a couple of, um, guidelines (yeah, that’s a better word) this site will be a great place to hang out.  So here we go:

1. Be nice.  I’ll be moderating all comments before they’re posted, but please, let’s avoid being mean, rude, or any of those other things that love is not.  (See 1 Corinthians 13:4-7  if you need a refresher.)  If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

2. Be understanding.  We’re all coming from different places, and I don’t mean geographically.  We all have our own histories.  We all have our own prejudices.  And I can guarantee, we all come from different churches.  In the spirit of unity in love, please do not criticize specific denominations or churches, or pick on each other’s beliefs or opinions.  Leave judging to the Holy Spirit – it’s His job anyway.  Again, if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

Good, that’s out of the way.  Now we can get on with it.  I can’t wait to “meet” you and I can’t wait to see what God does in us and through us as we get to know Him better.  Here we go!

